Stuff in General January 26, 2015

Hiya!!! Been a while since I did a general catch-up with everyone. How ya’ll doing??? I’ve been BUSY!!! Still volunteering, or will be back at that on Thursday. Have a new job, think I mentioned that I got the position with Burke Hospice and Palliative Care last week. I trained 3 days last week-Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday-and slept all day on Friday, lol. But I did work Saturday and Sunday. And I liked it too. That means a great deal to me. It was slow, but things will pick up more as I learn more. I do believe this is the job for me at this time in my life.

Fabric and String

I finished five Haiti dresses this week (see my Weekly Wishes post here). Will get some pics up as soon as I take them up to Barbara’s and we get some ribbon put in them. Still have more cut out and ready for lace and sewing. Hope to get at least three more done this week.

Haven’t done much crocheting the past couple of weeks. Still working on the (hopefully) last strip for Ju’s blanket. And still working on the first block of the Moogly 2015 CAL (crochet along). The second square pattern has been released, so I need to play catch-up with that.

We had our first 2015 monthly meeting today of the Burke Quilter’s Guild. I LOVE attending this group. Always the friendliest and most inspiring group of ladies. Our program today was presented by Thelma Luciana, a joyous, industrious, very young 82-year-old member of the guild. SHE HAND MAKES ALL OF HER QUILTS. And oh my, what quilts she has made. I forgot my camera this morning, but did use my phone to get a few pics. Now I just gotta figure out how to download them to the computer. OH DEAR, and I’m supposed to be tech savvy??? Lol. I just haven’t learned everything about my new phone. I had an old flip one for so long, I got left in the dust. I will get them on here, and SOON, I promise. There are some lovely pics to see.

It was also the first meeting for the new quilt show team (committee). This is my first year on any committee. We have a new chair for the team, and I’m sure I’ll be learning some more new things this year. Does it ever show that I love to learn???

Health Issues

I saw Burt on Thursday morning for a regular re-check. These occur about every three or four months. With all my lil problems, he likes to keep an eye on me. And I’ve seen him more than usual lately too, so he’s up to date with all that’s going on. My A1c was 5.7, which is great. He doesn’t want it to get much lower actually, because I tend to have hypoglycemic episodes when it gets much lower. I have had some glucose readings in the 40’s and 50’s lately, and I’m not feeling them as much as I used to. So that’s a concern. We adjusted my Novalog and Lantus down a bit, so we’ll see where it goes from here. He didn’t mention my lipid panel, so I suppose everything looked ok. I have lost a little more weight, and he’s pleased with that too. ME TOO!!! LOL!!! So things are generally good right now. (And no UTI at the moment, knock on wood.)

I do have an appointment on February 9th to have the InterStim device attached to see how it will do. I am SOOOO hoping it will work well. It would be such a big psychological boost to me to have the incontinence taken care of, or at least a lot better than it is now. Keep your fingers crossed for me please!!!

I am starting a six-week class tomorrow night at a local physician’s office for chronic disease self-management. It’s been a while since I took any training regarding my illnesses, and it never hurts to brush up on these things. Topics will include nutrition, communication skills, positive thinking, and dealing with emotions. These will all help me out. I’m looking forward to this.

Library Check

I have finished two books this year so far—Hold Tight by Harlan Coben, and Great Expectations by Charles Dickens. That was different from my usual fare, but I’m trying to expand my reading horizons some. So they’re will be more classics and different genres for me in the future. I’m working on another Harlan Coben right now, Missing You. I absolutely love his plot twists.

I went to the library tonight, but not for a book. The Burke County Public Library System has lots going on besides reading. Tonight was Mixed Media Monday. The library supplied wooden craft picture frames and TONS of craft accessories to decorate them with. I’ll post a pic of mine hopefully tomorrow. No good light tonight. But I had a blast. I love crafting of all sorts and this gives me a chance to meet new people and try something new without spending a small fortune for the supplies that I might only use once. That’s a winner to me!!!

So, lots of new going on—a new job, a new class, a new aspect to the quilt guild, new crocheting. I’m glad my body isn’t growing along with my mind, LOLOLOL!!! I’d be exploding!!! I promise to get some more interesting posts up soon (with pics, in other words). Hang in there with me.

Take care all. Blessed be, hugs!!! Pam

About pamspretties57

I'm a mama, a grandma, an ex-wife, and a creator. I love my family, animals, and my stuff. Not that I'm materialistic, I just have a lot of stuff. My daughter says I'm an organized hoarder lol. I am physically and mentally challenged. I am a diabetic, have heart problems, and am bipolar (depressive side). So my posts may sporadic at times, just bear with me. I'll do my best.
This entry was posted in Fabric and String, Health Issues. Bookmark the permalink.

I'm always glad to hear from you, please feel free to leave a comment. Namaste

