Guild Christmas Luncheon Day December 15, 2014

Hiya all!!! What a wonderful day I have had today. I have mentioned before that I am a member of the Burke Quilter’s Guild, a wonderful group of ladies who love to quilt and craft. Since this is my first year as a member, this was my first Christmas luncheon. It was so much fun. I’d missed a couple of months trying to work again, and I’ve really missed the meetings and the ladies. My day started out with me going out to Gwen’s to pick up the pumpkin spice muffins that she baked for me for the luncheon. Thank you so much, my sweetie!!! They were delicious, only wish you could have gone with me, you would have loved the day. Several asked about you. Then up to the Senior Center where the meetings are held. The room was buzzing with everyone decked out in holiday finery. Talking and visiting with each other.

Guild Christmas Luncheon 12-15-2014 001

Some of the ladies were busy back in the kitchen adding last touches to some scrumptious food.

Guild Christmas Luncheon 12-15-2014 002

Before we feasted, the business meeting was done and Show and Tell was presented. There are always lovely quilts to ooh and aah over.

Guild Christmas Luncheon 12-15-2014 003

Guild Christmas Luncheon 12-15-2014 005

Guild Christmas Luncheon 12-15-2014 006

Guild Christmas Luncheon 12-15-2014 007

The last one is representative of one of our main reasons for being—providing small quilts to the local neo-natal unit at the local hospital, and quilts to law enforcement in the area to comfort children, and sometimes adults, in times of trouble. It’s our Wee Care program.

Next up was the food. Oh my goodness, what food. There were 3 tables lined up and filled. This is what my plate looked like—a grand variety of yumminess. It was all so delicious. And I was stuffed.

Guild Christmas Luncheon 12-15-2014 008

Afterward, we played Quilter’s Bingo. I had almost covered my card before I got bingo. We didn’t have separate games, just one continuous one, lol. Some of the ladies won fabric quarters and some won the poinsettias that were in our table centerpieces. I won one of the poinsettias.

Guild Christmas Luncheon 12-15-2014It is so pretty sitting in my living room!!!

Fabric and String

I sewed about 3 hours this afternoon, and only have about a million more hours to go. Yikes!!! I’m not going to go in to Thrifts and Gifts this week and get this done. Christmas is only 10 days away. YIKES!!! It will get done. I did a few rows of crochet tonight while watching/listening to the Saints / Bears game. That was a blowout. The Saints won 31 to 15. That doesn’t help the Panthers, but the Lions play the Bears on Sunday. So that looks good for the Lions. Opps, mixing my categories here.

Has anyone else out there discovered Curious.com??? It’s a site that has information (some of it for sale) on an unlimited variety of items. Some of it is free and the priced items seem to go more in depth than a lot of YouTube videos. The CEO, Justin Kitch, posts a Curio of the Day everyday. It’s usually just a snippet of info that you might otherwise not ever hear of. Today’s curio was interesting to me:

A curious fact for December 15, 2014 from Justin Kitch, Curious CEO
The Turks are going nuts for an eco-city. Turkey–the world’s third largest producer of pistachios–generates thousands of tons of leftover nutshells every year. Tired of watching the shells pile up in landfills, the nut-loving Turks want them to fuel a new eco-city. It will house up to 200,000 people and be located in the Gaziantep Province, which produces over half of Turkey’s pistachios. The shells will ferment in machines called digesters, which produce bio-gas from organic material. The resulting bio-gas, mostly methane, should generate 60% of the the new city’s energy. This is Turkey’s first attempt at building an eco-city, and will be the only one in the world fueled by pistachios. It doesn’t sound nuts to me at all.

I am all for anyway that we can reduce landfills and supply energy in a more responsible fashion. My kids know how much I recycle. Even though there’s only me in the household, I usually have only one or two bags of trash a month. I buy wisely (low packaging) and recycle EVERYTHING that I can. Anyway, check out Curious and learn something new.

That’s it for me for today. Heading to bed soon, to sew in the morning light, lol. Take care all, good night. Talk to ya tomorrow. Blessed be, hugs!!! Pam

About pamspretties57

I'm a mama, a grandma, an ex-wife, and a creator. I love my family, animals, and my stuff. Not that I'm materialistic, I just have a lot of stuff. My daughter says I'm an organized hoarder lol. I am physically and mentally challenged. I am a diabetic, have heart problems, and am bipolar (depressive side). So my posts may sporadic at times, just bear with me. I'll do my best.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

I'm always glad to hear from you, please feel free to leave a comment. Namaste

