Slow Saturday November 8, 2014

Yep, I missed a post yesterday. It ended up being another sleepy day. I went to Thrifts and Gifts for 4 hours, and had a good time, even though I felt bad. Remember, I slept on Wednesday and just haven’t felt good all week. Today, I know why—ANOTHER UTI. So I’ll be calling the doctor’s office Monday morning. If I make it til then. Yeah, I’ll make it. So. haven’t done much today. Ate a little bit and read a bit. About ready to lay back down. I hate feeling bad. I know, everyone does. And I try not to complain too much. But when you feel yucky, nothing goes right. Ok, enough of that.

Library Check

I read a lot, I mean a LOT. I go to the library at least once every two weeks. I usually get four to six books, depending on what they are. And I read them all. A lot of people would call a lot of what I read fluff, but I read what entertains me. Right now I have a Harlan Coben, a Robin Cook, a slow cooker recipe book for diabetics (would like to add this to my collection, course then I’d need to add a slow cooker, lol), a knitting book, and a quilting book.

I especially love Dean Koontz. I’ve been reading his books for many years now. I’ll read and reread many of his stories. One that I reread a couple of weeks ago, 77 Shadow Street, is a favorite of mine. I copied an excerpt from the book to share:

     “…this world was a place of deep mystery and enchantment, with occasional episodes of  terror to give it texture. Death was merely the price of admission, cheap if you considered all that it bought you. Fearing death meant also fearing life, which stole all meaning from the act of living.”

I don’t fear death, at least I don’t think I do. I realize that we all encounter death throughout our lives and will face it personally at least once in our lives. I try to live as much as I can and to acknowledge the beauty in EVERYTHING. Because there is beauty in everything, if only you take the time to see it.

Koontz can be dark at times, but his books have hidden inspiration and hope within the mysteries. I am not looking forward to the ending of the Odd Thomas series, one of Koontz’s best works, in my opinion. His Frankenstein series was fantastic too. An unusual view of the monster in present time. I hope he never stops writing. As least as long as I am able to read.

Go read a good book, soon.

Well, not much else new today. Just a short post. Have a good evening and night friends. Talk to ya tomorrow. Blessed be, hugs!!! Pam

About pamspretties57

I'm a mama, a grandma, an ex-wife, and a creator. I love my family, animals, and my stuff. Not that I'm materialistic, I just have a lot of stuff. My daughter says I'm an organized hoarder lol. I am physically and mentally challenged. I am a diabetic, have heart problems, and am bipolar (depressive side). So my posts may sporadic at times, just bear with me. I'll do my best.
This entry was posted in Library Check. Bookmark the permalink.

I'm always glad to hear from you, please feel free to leave a comment. Namaste

