Places and Spaces August 18, 2013

Hiya!!! It’s been a weird summer here. Very rainy in June and early July, and much cooler than normal in western North Carolina. July usually has humidity in the 70 to 90 percent range, with highs in the upper 80s and 90s, even hitting in the 100s at times. We’ve had mostly 80s and the past few days it’s only been in the 60s and 70s, very, very unusual. I took some pictures of the Catawba River, which was way above its banks, at one of my favorite thinking places. Image

The river is usually below the tree line. Here’s what it looks like after a few weeks:

Image

Still very muddy under the trees, but at least the water is back down.

Here’s another set to compare:

ImageImage

We’re definitely not in a drought this summer, like years past.

One of my favorite places to go is McGalliard Falls, a small park near my house, less than a mile away actually. Here a few pics of the falls:

ImageImageImage

I couldn’t get to a spot for real good angles, because it was so muddy still. And yes, that’s the old mill in the last picture. But the park has covered picnic tables, a tennis court, and a small volleyball area, as well as a concrete bridge over the little stream. I love going there.

A short trip on the Blue Ridge Parkway yielded these pics:

ImageImageImageImage

Would ya look at that view, and the clouds are so magnificent. We ran into a little rain, and I’d say it was in the sixties up there in the mountains that day. So very, very nice.

Well, I hope to have more places that I go in the future. Have a great week, blessed be, hugs!!! Pam

About pamspretties57

I'm a mama, a grandma, an ex-wife, and a creator. I love my family, animals, and my stuff. Not that I'm materialistic, I just have a lot of stuff. My daughter says I'm an organized hoarder lol. I am physically and mentally challenged. I am a diabetic, have heart problems, and am bipolar (depressive side). So my posts may sporadic at times, just bear with me. I'll do my best.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Places and Spaces August 18, 2013

  1. gwen says:

    Awesome pics!!! You better be careful or you will be taking as many pics as Aunt BJ

I'm always glad to hear from you, please feel free to leave a comment. Namaste

