Car Goes and Woes August 18, 2013

Hiya all!!! On we go with my car adventures.

Poor Dean, I’ve given him fits about my car. Well, I try not to nag him too much, but the car is old (21 years old), and needs lots of TLC.  As I’ve posted before, the valve seat dropped in it, and he had to do some major engine work to fix that. He finished up that job on June 29th/30th. Yep, he worked all night that Saturday night to get it back together. He drove it for a couple of days, and on July 2nd, I took him up to his dad’s to get his truck, which has since then been taken off the road (he just can’t catch a break). My NBC (Nana Bobbie’s Car), was still running hot in traffic. The cooling fan wasn’t running at all. We went up to Franklin, NC, for a Gem and Mineral Show. He got sleepy on the way back, and I took over driving. While he was asleep, I thought I’d get on the Blue Ridge Parkway and get a few pictures for the blog. He woke up as I pulled into an overlook, and yelled at me to get back on the road. The car was steaming, overheating, and I hadn’t thought to keep an eye on the temp gauge since we’d been moving. He was totally ticked at me, but I’m not as perfect as some people, I just didn’t think to check the gauge too often that time. So we kept going, the car cooled back down, but it had boiled out a good bit of water. We got off in Hendersonville, and stopped to eat, and let the car cool. He finally put some more water in the radiator, and we headed back home. About a week and half later, I asked him if he had come up with any ideas about the overheating. So he fixed the cooling fan so that it runs whenever the switch is on. No heating problems so far, knock on wood.

Then a few days later, I was on my way to Wal-Mart to pick up some meds, and the thing starts missing—badly. I got Dean to drive it, and he got some new spark plugs, saying we’d start with the simplest solution first. They cured that problem, but he said that there were some metal shavings on one of the old plugs, so poor NBC still has internal problems.

I guess if I get a part time job, I’ll be looking for a new car soon. I really can’t complain about the little car, she’s been a good one, and really reliable. She’s bound to have problems at her age. I’ll drive her til she stops.

So goes the car, and her woes. We’ll just see what pops up next, hopefully nothing for a while now. Blessed be, hugs!!! Pam

About pamspretties57

I'm a mama, a grandma, an ex-wife, and a creator. I love my family, animals, and my stuff. Not that I'm materialistic, I just have a lot of stuff. My daughter says I'm an organized hoarder lol. I am physically and mentally challenged. I am a diabetic, have heart problems, and am bipolar (depressive side). So my posts may sporadic at times, just bear with me. I'll do my best.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Car Goes and Woes August 18, 2013

  1. Barbara Powell says:

    She has been a good car! Hope she behaves for awhile!! Love you bunches

  2. gwen says:

    Nanna would be so proud of her little car hanging in this long! I swear that car is kin to Mommaws Lil Red!!

I'm always glad to hear from you, please feel free to leave a comment. Namaste

